We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)


  • Event: Jan 25, 2020 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
    The Oakwood, 564 Rayleigh Road, Leigh-on-Sea, Essex SS9 5HX

    Every fourth Saturday morning (except August) Councilor Paul Collins will be here to meet you. Come and share a coffee.

  • Article: Jan 12, 2020
    By Fergal O'Brien in Bloomberg

    U.K. Prime Minister Boris Johnson wants to "unleash Britain's potential." First the economy has to catch back up with the rest of the world.

    Research by Bloomberg Economics estimates that the economic cost of Brexit has already hit 130 billion pounds ($170 billion), with a further 70 billion pounds set to be added by the end of this year. That's based on the damage caused by the U.K. untethering from its Group of Seven peers over the past three years.

  • Article: Jan 12, 2020
    By Steve Shaw in Southend Echo

    A BUMPER £47m cash injection will be spent on a package of projects to improve roads, schools, car parks and Southend Pier as part of new council budget plans revealed today.

    Projects could include new multi-storey car parks at Tylers Avenue, Southend and two other possible sites in Leigh, due to be unveiled in March.

  • Article: Jan 9, 2020
    By Sean Davies in Southend Echo

    Babies in Southend could be at risk of catching potentially deadly illnesses as uptake rates for important jabs fall below safe levels, new figures have revealed.

    Young children should get the so-called six-in-one jab, which protects against six serious infections including polio, whooping cough and diphtheria, in the first few months of their lives.

  • Article: Jan 9, 2020

    The Essex Energy Switch is about residents coming together to save money on their gas and electricity bills. The more people that register as interested in switching provider, the bigger the potential saving per household. Residents could save as much as £250 a year on their energy bills.

    Registering for the Energy Switch is quick, easy and helps avoid searching for the best deals as all the hard work is done for you. Once the registration window closes, energy companies will bid at an auction to see who can offer the lowest energy tariff.

  • Event: Feb 8, 2020 9:00 AM - 10:45 AM
    Leigh Community Centre, 71-73 Elm Road, Leigh-on-Sea, Essex SS9 1SP

    Meet your Lib Dem Councillors on the second Saturday of the month at Leigh Community Centre between 9 and 10.45 am.

  • Event: Feb 8, 2020 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
    Kent Elms Library, 1 Rayleigh Road, Leigh-on-Sea, Essex SS9 5UU

    Every second Saturday morning (except August) Councilor Paul Collins will be here to meet you. Come and share a coffee.

  • Article: Dec 21, 2019

    Boris Johnson's government has set out a disastrous agenda which will force through a hard Brexit, undermine our public services, destroy opportunities for our communities and cripple living standards.

    Brexit will hinder our ability to safeguard our NHS and reduce our capacity to tackle the climate crisis.

    The fact that radical climate action has been ignored is a hallmark of a government which is setting all the wrong priorities.

  • Article: Dec 13, 2019

    The Liberal Democrats in Chelmsford saw their vote share more than double in yesterday's election, as they were reconfirmed as the main challenger to the Conservatives.

    • Conservative 55% - up 2%
    • Lib Dem 25% - up 13%
    • Labour 18% - down 12%

    Commented Candidate Marie Goldman, "I'd like to say a huge thank you to everyone in Chelmsford who placed their trust in me and the Lib Dems yesterday by voting for us. Some people are long-time liberal voters, some were just lending us their vote, and some had switched to vote for us from another party for the very first time.

  • Article: Dec 13, 2019

    This winter election has been dark in more ways than one.

    This winter election has been dark in more ways than one.

    Leaders evading scrutiny, whether it was Corbyn ducking phone-ins or Johnson hiding in a fridge.

    Voters feeling forced to choose the least worst option, squeezing out positivity.

    Even before it started, we saw an exodus of MPs, especially women, ground down by abuse, intimidation and threats.

Southend Council logo

Southend in 1962
with Johnny Morris